Situated on the beautiful shores of
Strangford Lough, Killyleagh is a picturesque town located
approximately 20 miles south of Belfast and 5 miles north of the
historical cathedral town of Downpatrick - with its close
associations with St. Patrick.
was settled by John de Courcey in the 12th Century with
fortifications on what is now the site of Killyleagh Castle.
This fine turretted Castle, redesigned in 1850 by Charles Lanyon, is
still privately owned and is a focal point in the town.